Time is a Luxury

Leave a comment

July 28, 2011 by travelingsole

Run here. Run there. It’s like I got entered into a rat race I didn’t know I was signed up for. I am packing for this, then that, then the next thing. It’s Ireland, BD, my parents house, and youth camping. I’m tired of living out of a suitcase. It’s like I don’t have a home. It’s time for me to just settle down and live in one place for more than a week.

I bought a new watch last week and I think it’s getting tired of me glancing at it every hour.

Last week I got an email from a friend whom I am actually going to meet next week. She told me that I need to slow down. Take a breather. Sit down and drink a cup of coffee. Journal. Go outside and breathe some fresh air. Thanks Cindy. It was exactly what I needed to hear. I haven’t done the best living it out but I’m trying.

Do you guys ever have so much stuff to do that you don’t know where to start? You sit down to think about what all you have to do and you can’t even focus enough to make a list. You finally make the list and then don’t know what to do first.

That has been me for the last 3 weeks. Right now I’m writing but my brain isn’t at rest. It might have something to do with the 20 oz. Chocolate Milano Mocha I’m drinking. Mostly it has to do with my brain spinning out of control. I need to take Cindy’s advice and just stop. Stop and rest. Relax and talk to God.

I just got back from Ireland a couple days ago. The wedding was Sunday afternoon so Sunday morning I had some time to go out and sit on the coast and relax the tired brain. It was like a million breaths of fresh air. I sat there watching the waves for half an hour. God spoke to me through the sea. It felt like I was a whole person for a little bit. I think when I’m rich I want to have a cottage beside the sea. Take walks on the beach and watch the waves.

This is the "swimming hole" in Ireland.

There is a path along the top of the cliffs. The grass is so soft. It's a natural carpet. You can sit and enjoy the view.

Today I spent an hour at “my nephews” house. I took Michael on one last 4-wheeler ride. Put him down for a nap one last time. Held Felix one last time. Talked to their mom about the joys and sorrows of life one last time. Last time for 2011 but 2012 is just around the corner.

The remainder of this week I want to sit back. Relax. Sleep in. Talk and laugh with friends. Go to coffee shops. Hang out with my youth group for the last time in 2011. Write all of you. Read the Bible and pray. Rest.

I hope your week is going well and your weekend is restful and carefree. I hope you see God in the flowers, hear Him in the birds, and feel Him in the breeze.

Until next time,

Karli

PS I will share wedding pictures and tell about Ireland soon. Just have to get pictures from my traveling companions.

Leave a Reply

