More on getting here

2

August 12, 2011 by travelingsole

It’s never quite like you expect. You know how you get a mind picture of what you are going to do, see, say, etc. I didn’t really know what to expect, so I guess in a way that was good. But I heard that it was stinky, loud, over populated, and very very dirty. But there are more things. You won’t know what it’s like unless you are here for yourself. I don’t even know what all it’s like but I will try to give you little glimpses into life here as I learn.

Traveling here…. 8 hrs to NYC. A few days there getting prepped for the big day. The big day was actually relaxed for me. I had all the time in the world with all my bags packed.

From NYC , I traveled with a family of 2 parents and 4 children. 14 suitcases and approximately 2 carry-ons per person. There was a lot of luggage. A van and 2 cars later we got to the airport. We left around 8:30 Thursday evening. Our flight was a few minutes before midnight.

The first flight was 12 hrs. I slept at least half the time. It didn’t feel that long. There was only one layover. It was enough time to change, read a couple childrens’ books, and get on the next plane. They fed us well on the plane. People usually say that airplane food is terrible but I really like it. Yes, it is a little like a TV dinner but it is tasty and hot and free (or at least you aren’t given the option to pay for it or not).

Katelyn, Vanessa, Joshua, and Allison (all very good travelers) Poor Joshua had an infected tooth.

Vanessa and I with her blankie.

Getting here… seems like a long time ago. It’s been a week. We got here 5:30 Saturday morning (that would have been 7:30 Friday evening in NY). I have to think to remember what all we did. Immigrations then baggage claim. We didn’t have anything to claim so we could skip customs. Lines weren’t even bad. Thankfully there were three guys that met us at the airport. We got two taxi vans and off we went. Showers, ladies change into the 3 piece outfits (shalwar, kameez, and orna) and then everyone got together for the day.

Everything here is one day ahead of the US. Not time zone ahead but what you do on in a day ahead. What you do in the states on Sunday, we do here on Saturday. TGIF is a Thursday here. Today is Friday but it was my day off like a Saturday. The work week here starts on Sunday. It’s confusing.

There are going to be a lot more adjustments. There are some things that I’m getting used to already but there are many more things to learn.

For now I need to go to bed,

Karli

PS Please comment but remember to be careful what you say. This is the internet and eyes are looking if you understand what I mean. If you are unsure of what you can and/or can’t say just go the safe way. Thank you for reading and supporting me.

2 thoughts on “More on getting here

  1. Diane says:

    I’m so jealous of the cultural experience you are having! It has to be a joy to share your life with the people and learn so much. I love reading your updates! We think about you and hope that all is going well with your studies and conversations. Blessings…

  2. tisagifttoreceive says:

    I was delighted to see you updated! I want to see some photos. 😉

Leave a Reply

