Eid continued

1

September 17, 2011 by travelingsole

I forgot to post this earlier. I wanted to tell you a little more about Eid. Like I said it is celebrated like our Christmas. There is lots of fun parties, food, family, friends, gift giving, and traveling.

I went to my next door neighbors’ house, Rony and Rita. I call them brother or bhai and brother’s wife or bhabi. I took them a small gift of Gala apples and Smarties that I brought from the states. I sat in the living room and talked to Rony for a while. He was very nice and his English is excellent. He was telling me about why his parents are living with them. His dad has Parkinson’s, COPD, osteoporosis, and hyper tension. His mom does most of the work in caring for his dad but they are living at Rony’s flat.

For the meal, we had rice, chicken, mutton, beef, chicken, an Italian salad (no lettuce -cucumber, tomato, peppers and onions in an Italian style dressing), and breaded hardboiled eggs (breaded with mashed potatoes or something). They offered me silverware but I said I could eat with my hand. I actually enjoy eating with my hand minus the messy hand part.

After we washed our hands, we moved to the living room. Rita served bright orange sweet rice and Coke. The sweet rice is the milky like my mom used to make. It’s rice and sugar mixed with sweet beans or fruit of some sort. Very good but I would rather eat more hot food. I was only there for about an hour and half and I had a very good time.

Later that night, they were expecting lots of friends and family and they were going to visit more family that weekend in one of the villages.

I found out that the first Eid is a celebration of all the good things that people did during Ramadan. Like they prayed extra, fasted more, gave more to the poor, etc. etc. In this culture, when a good thing happens like a couple gets married, they really celebrate. I was at a wedding (oh I haven’t told you about that yet) and after the couple signed the official papers they passed around dried dates for everyone. The second Eid I will tell you about when it happens but it is about when Abraham took his son up on the mountain. It is celebrated 70 days (or 90 days I forget) after the first Eid.

If you have questions just leave me comments and if I don’t know the answer I will ask my friends here and get back to you.

Karli

PS Two posts in one day should make up for the long absence right?

 

One thought on “Eid continued

  1. EJ says:

    no. 2 posts in one day do not make up for a absence! jk

Leave a Reply

