Getting Old(er)

7

January 5, 2012 by travelingsole

Why are people ashamed of getting old and getting white hair? It can’t be because white hair is ugly. I think people with white hair look so sofisticated. I know that I am relatively young but I am getting older. Every minute I’m older than I was the last minute. When I think about the fact that next year (2013) I am going to be 25 I get so excited. I love getting older. Maturing. Traveling more of the world. Meeting more and more new people. Learning new things.

There are a lot of “milestone birthdays”. I think I am most excited about my 25th birthday. 16 -I got my license. 18 -came “of age”. 21 -well you know you are just considered an adult for real. But at 25! – I get to rent a car. That might seem like the lamest thing to be excited about, but if you are me that is pretty big. I travel so much to visit friends and there are many times that I have wished I could rent a car. When I’m 25, I can skip the driving 11 hrs (by myself) to see my dear friend Amy. I can fly. Amy doesn’t have to drive an hr to the airport to get me. I can rent a car.

Anyway, this post is not about renting cars.

We haven’t had a funeral in our church for a long time. A lady that was attending our church died of cancer 5 years ago but then the last funeral was back in the mid-90s. Right now we have a lot of older people that are sick.

My dear Mahlon is 85. He is walking with a walker and lives with a lot of back pain. He used to say “I’m not old. I’ve just been young longer.” He is a very positive man. When his health started failing he told me, “Don’t feel bad for me. I am going to get to heaven before you.” Mahlon’s wife Florence has been a teacher’s aid for years. She has the most beautiful white hair. I spent 45 minutes at their house the other day just talking to them. They were telling me a story that made me want to cry.  One night they had gone to bed early but neither one of them could sleep. Finally at midnight Florence started getting up. Mahlon asked her where she was going. She said she was going to make a peanut butter sandwich. Mahlon said to wait for him, he wanted one too. They sat at the table together eating peanut butter sandwiches until they were both sleepy. They have been married for 60+ years and still very much in love.

My friends and housemates Kristi and Heidi’s grandpa William’s health is failing fast. He has been in and out of the hospital for the last 6 months. Their other grandpa almost died over a year ago. When you get older your body just starts failing you. My step-grandma is planning on going to Mayo Clinic with heart problems and she is only 61. This may be morbid but when I get older I just want to go Home.

Death is scary because it’s an unknown. But can you imagine living in Heaven? The Bible barely begins to describe it’s majestic beauty. And besides all the beauty Jesus is there. Jesus is the Love of the world. A God that loves the worst sinner and most self-righteous Pharisee is the God that I want to spend eternity with. All of my family and friends that have gone on ahead will be there. There are no more goodbyes. I hate saying goodbye. No sad funerals. Whenever I leave one place and go to another I want to take everyone I love with me. In heaven goodbyes aren’t necessary. Everyday we get older we are one step closer to eternity. Each white hair counts down the time.

7 thoughts on “Getting Old(er)

  1. tisagifttoreceive says:

    I love the Mahlon and Florence story! That’s how I’d like to get old.

  2. Irene Sue Byler says:

    Thank you Karleen,
    You are a wonderful person…Love your comments about getting older! It brought tears but…that’s about all I do these days! Love you!

    • Irene,
      I’ve been thinking a lot about you and your family. I know that you are going to be missing your dad a lot. Just know that there are a lot of people that love you and will support you as you grieve.
      I love you,
      Karleen

  3. EJ says:

    It’s people like you with their enthusiasm for old age that will be someone’s ray of sunshine in about 50 years. Keep it up!

  4. Julie says:

    Karleen – this is beautiful and so are you and I love the picture!!! I can even see my son Micah on it!! And i especially needed it, because I’d like to yank out all my white hairs that keep showing up! I am only 39!!
    Love you!!

Leave a Reply

