A year ago

3

November 19, 2012 by travelingsole

A year ago I was packing to move back home after being in Bangladesh for 4 months. I was saying goodbyes for the last time. I was clinging to every last moment with “my kids”. Sometimes BD feels like a lifetime ago and yet it feels like yesterday that I was there. I miss it like crazy. I really want to go back. One of these days I will just buy a plane ticket and go. When I’m feeling especially nostalgic I put on one of my outfits from there. A “three-piece” or shalwar/kameez.

You’re not supposed to live in the past right? How do you make the past part of your present without “living back there”? There are times when I get frustrated with myself because I stop living in the now and dwell on the past. Or I wish I could be somewhere else.

A year ago in 2 days, Nov. 21, 2011 at midnight, I was leaving for the airport from my apartment. Jeremy took me to the airport and I found my way to my gate. That trip still makes me smile. I was traveling “alone” but I knew I wasn’t alone.

In the Dhaka airport I ran into 2 other Americans (one that I’d met once before). We had an hour delay on that first flight. Typical Americans we talked even though we were strangers.

In the Doha airport, another stranger, an American man and I went through the airport together. It was a confusing airport and we were pushed for time to make our next flight. We did it together. That stranger felt like an angel to me. Doha, Qatar is in the Middle East. Usually single young women wouldn’t travel alone in a place like this. It was nice to have this stranger, a man, take me “under his wing”. I could have done it without him but it was nice to have him there. I felt God’s protection.

In JFK airport I ran into a couple I knew on their way to BD. They were visiting my friends. I ran into them in the check-in terminal. Don’t ask me why I was there. I was just wandering through the airport admiring the paintings on the wall because I had time to spare and I needed the exercise.

I got home that Monday night, after being awake for most of 50 hours, exhausted. Friends picked me up at the airport. I was arriving home 3 weeks ahead of my original schedule so I could be personal attendent at a best friend’s wedding. My family didn’t know about the change in schedule. I’m sad now that I was so tired I barely remember that first evening at home. And it’s not well documented. I thought I’d blogged about it but I guess I didn’t. I got home around 9:30pm and surprised my parents and Glendon and Virginia. Tuesday morning I drove with Krista to Faith Builders to see Lucas and John Mark. I got home and saw Titus. He’d been home over the weekend and then gone back to Michigan. Mom called him and told him I was home. The dear brother took a personal day off school drove 4 hrs to come some me.

Surprising John Mark in the middle of him teaching a class.

Lucas’s expression when I walked into his study room

 

Titus and I

 

Wednesday morning I flew to Iowa for Amy’s wedding. I was home from 9:30 Monday night to 5:30 Wedensday morning with a 3 hour round trip drive to Faith Builders in the middle.

It was so good to be able to spend time with Amy’s family the week of the wedding. Thanksgiving day we spent making food for the wedding. It was their first major holiday without Casey. Amy’s brother that died in Puerto Rico earlier in 2011. It was a happy and sad week. Saturday was such a fun day. Because I was personal attendent I got to spend all day with Amy. It was worth coming home from BD 3 weeks early to be with Amy that week.

Amy aka Shorty-pants and I aka Smarty-pants

 

If I went back to BD now it would be different. The people have changed. 2 of the 5 families are now back in the states. The kids have grown. They’ve all made memories since I was there. I know why Peter wanted to build three tabernacles.

How can a human heart be on two sides of the world at the same time?

Karli

 

3 thoughts on “A year ago

  1. Diana says:

    I know what you mean, Karli. I love to travel, I love to make new friends. But there’s always the pain of saying good-bye. Makes me long for heaven… Imagine- NO goodbyes ever!!!! 🙂

  2. Cindy Fox says:

    i so know what you mean… I miss it too. A lot! Glad we had the chance to meet each other over there! come see us sometime

Leave a Reply

