3 Firsts – Nephews

Leave a comment

December 4, 2013 by travelingsole

In October I got to babysit my little “nephews” more than normal. To keep things interesting for all involved I decided to take them on a few adventures.

Cleveland Zoo

The boys are both obsessed with animals. Especially wild animals. The National Geographic youtube channel has gotten a lot of views from those two. I have to limit them. I think they’ve watched the Honey Badger 50 times at least.

Watching National Geographic on youtube

Watching National Geographic on youtube

Because I know how much they love animals I thought they might like to go to the zoo. I made the mistake of mentioning this idea to the boys a couple weeks before the actual trip and they couldn’t stop asking when we were going to go. Thankfully there was an abnormally warm day that made it possible to go.

A two door car is not made for car seats.

A two door car is not made for car seats.

Our outfit - who needs a two-seater?

Our outfit – who needs a two-seater?

Felix enjoyed the animals but I don’t think he could quite grasp everything. Michael on the other hand couldn’t sit still. From one enclosure to the next. Toward the end of the day even when his legs were getting tired, he still wanted to stay longer.

Michael loved the map about as much as he loved the animals. I had to convince him to let me even get a quick peek at it.

Michael loved the map about as much as he loved the animals. I had to convince him to let me even get a quick peek at it.

We love monkeys.

We love monkeys.

Michael stood and watched this flamingo for about as long as we were at the lions. It just stood there. ?? He liked it.

Michael watched this flamingo for a long time. It just stood there but he liked it. Maybe he was waiting for it to move?

Sharks - Michael's favorite

Sharks – Michael’s favorite – he was scared of it though. He kept asking if it was the kind that hurt people. It took some convincing to get him up close to the glass.

Like I said he loved that map.

Like I said he loved that map and we love monkeys.

Library

The next adventure was the library. They don’t remember ever having been to the library before. It was wonderful to see the library with “new eyes”.

photo 4 (2)

Books! So many books!

Books! So many books!

photo (14)

After they found this boat they were done with the books.

Reading books in the boat

Boat at the library

Riding in the Combine

Felix loves combines. One day I decided to take them to ride the combine in the field.

Our combine - for those that don't have any farming background.

Our combine – for those that don’t have any farming background.

Felix lasted about 10 minutes before fell asleep. Michael was out in 25 minutes. It’s like being inside a giant white noise machine. Even I got groggy.

Combine ride that put them both to sleep.

Combine ride that put them both to sleep.

I love these boys if you can’t tell. Felix can’t say my name properly. It comes out sounding like Areen. He’ll put his soft little hand on my arm and say “Areen, Areen” whenever he finds anything half way exciting. Reading books to him is always interesting. Every few seconds “Areen, Areen” as he points to something on the page. He doesn’t stop until you acknowledge his excitement.

Michael goes through phases of ignoring me and loving me. I have teaching moments with him sometimes. We are working on “Please, Thank you, and Excuse me” right now. It doesn’t take much to discipline him. He is very sensitive so getting him to look you in the eyes is key. Eye contact and a simple no is all that’s needed most times.

I’m always trying to find the balance of letting them be boys and not letting them get away with too much. Both of the are angels most of the time. Their little hugs are what get me through.

Leave a Reply

