The Boys

2

March 19, 2014 by travelingsole

When I say “the boys”, I mean these two. These two little boys are family. Adopted into our family. They live across the street from my parents (which is also where i work). I have the privilege of taking care of these boys quite often. They are my boys. My “nephews”. I love them more than I can say. This week I did not have them at all and I miss them. It’s only been 3 days since I’ve seen them and I miss them. So briefly I am going to put Ireland pictures on hold and share the boys with you.

Michael is 4. He will be five soon. It’s hard to believe it’s been so long since he was born. His favorite animal at Christmas time was sharks. Right now he’s into dinosaurs. I bought him a couple dinosaur books and of course he loves them. We usually play “Zoo Animals” (him being the animals and me being come to see all the different animals) but lately the “zoo” only has dinosaurs. StegosaurusTriceratops, Meat-eating Dinosaurs (T-Rex), and Flying Dinosaurs. He loves them all.

My little dinosaur

My little dinosaur

Michael loves to be held. He will hold my hand when we walk into the library. He loves when I hold him to read stories to him. If we are coloring beside each other he will often lean into me. He also loves puzzles, coloring books, playing Sorry or the Marble Game and watching National Geographic youtube videos. He also loves Fun Ku Panda and George Curious. 🙂 We are working on getting those straight.

Michael

Michael

 

Felix is 2. He’s also blonde-haired and blue eyed. He still takes a nap in the afternoon. He goes right to sleep if I rub his back but he will lay there for an hour if I don’t. He loves to cuddle for a while after he wakes up. He’s a very sensitive child. He does not want to be potty trained. He is scared of sitting on the toilet. Whenever we change his diaper he says “I’m a baby.” If we bring up going to the potty like Michael he thinks about it for a while and says “I’m a baby.” 

Felix

Felix

Felix loves Thomas the Tank Engine. When I read the book to him he has to identify all the trains on each page before we can read the page. He loves being held but he’s also very independent. He plays with toys by himself for hours. He loves the typical boy toys. If you ask him what his favorite color is he says blue, green, and pink. When I took them to get new toothbrushes he picked out a Hello Kitty toothbrush. He has a hard time saying his consonants so he replaces them with the d sound. For dog he says dod. I’m Dar’een. He has a fantastic belly laugh and his dimpled smile would melt anyone’s heart.

Felix4

 

If I haven’t said or if you can’t tell – I love these boys. Very, very much.

Both

2 thoughts on “The Boys

  1. Lydia Kaufman says:

    I can tell! God bless you! They are lucky to have you 🙂

Leave a Reply

